November 29, 2010

Random Things I Think About….

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:52 am by ginalucca

I think the title of this post pretty much sums up what it is. Below are the random things that I think about; especially when I am not busy at work. I don’t know if I’m the only one that thinks these things or not, so if you also find yourself wondering these things please let me know. 🙂 Happy Monday!!

– When you go in to a public restroom it is kind of an unwritten rule that you leave at least one stall in between you and the next person, if possible. It totally creeps me out when I am the only one in the bathroom and someone comes and goes in to the stall right next to me. There are 5 other stalls that they could choose from. It’s just weird!

– Along the same lines as the bathroom scenario mentioned above, if I go in to a bathroom and you are obviously not going #1, please wait until I leave to show your face. There is nothing worse than hearing someone “go to town” in the bathroom and then beat you to the sink so you can akwardly look at them and say “hi” knowing full well that they just unleashed the fury. I promise I am going pee as fast as I can so I am just asking you wait that extra 10 seconds for me to wash my hands and get out of there. Is that too much to ask???

– Men: If I am talking to you, please don’t give the one-up to a random girl walking by. I’ll be even more insulted if she’s not hot. Believe me, I constantly see hotties walking by, but I have trained my eyes to lock in on the person talking to me and use my peripherals to scope the crowd out in the mean time. Just like on the movie “40 Yr. Old Virgin”, you need to use your peripherals!!

– Am I the only person that gets grossed out watching someone lick their lips non-stop? I’m not talking once every few minutes or so, but like every time they go to talk. There is just something really gross about it to me. I can’t explain it.

– I don’t get why everyone cares what Brett Favre does in his private life. I was the same about Clinton, and other public figures. I care about how they do their job and as long as it’s done well and their private lives aren’t affecting their work, why does it matter? I’m not condoning their actions, I just don’t care about them too much.

– Why do people have no problem tossing $10-$20 a week away for coffee, happy hour, lunch, etc., but think twice about throwing that in a Salvation Army bucket?

– What happened to people using their manners? I find it odd that we scold children for behaving badly, i.e. not sharing, budging in line, throwing fits when they don’t get their way, but adults do the same thing. I can understand when you want to avoid someone throwing a fit/making a scene in a store so you agree to give them what they are asking for, but it just keeps enabling this behavior. It’s almost like there is this “grace period” for people. We learn as children that this behavior is unacceptable and typically don’t continue it, but for some reason people will start to do it again when they hit their mid-20’s and above. I can’t tell you how many people I see come in to my work and complain, complain, complain, until they get what they want. It’s pathetic. I hope they don’t have children because they are terrible role models if they do.

– Have you ever seen the movie “The Watcher in the Woods”? It’s totally messed up. I watched it a few times as a child and I think it screwed me up royally. It’s actually a movie that Disney produced when they were trying to expand their portfolio of films. I like to call it the “Disney on acid era”. If you haven’t seen it before, you should.

– This weekend when I was at church I saw these 2 kids kiss during “peace”. If you’re Catholic, you understand what “peace” is. If you’re not, “peace” is a time after the “Our Father” prayer where you hold out and shake the hands of the people near you as a sign of, well, peace. Maybe they do this in other services, I’m not sure. So anyways, I see married people kiss or hug, no big deal. But there was this young girl in front of me that turned to this boy next to her and they put their arms around each other and kissed. It wasn’t some major make-out session or anything, but I kind of found it odd that the mother that was next to them didn’t flinch. These kids couldn’t have been over 15 so obviously their “relationship” wasn’t something serious. Does anyone else find that weird or kind of inappropriate? Maybe I’m just a prude.

– Little boys say the funniest things. I have two nieces and they are hilarious, and I’m sure I’m biased about that statement. But whenever I’m in Target or the grocery store I always hear little boys ask the funniest questions or say the most random things. It could be the simplest thing like, “Are we having hot dogs?”, but they say it SOOO loud and with such passion behind it that I can’t help but start laughing. I heard a kid in Target the other day say “My stomach is a GROWL-ing” while he rubbed his stomach and walked non-chalantly with his mom to the check-out. Maybe it’s the age (5 or 6) and the fact that he was rocking a Spiderman pant and tee ensemble that made it so funny.

– Have you ever kissed someone that had pruny lips? I unfortunately have. It was so weird. It’s like kissing a 98 yr. old man that has no strength left in him. What makes it even more weird is when they tell you that you are a good kisser! Really?? You got that from one quick kiss….one that I was completely creeped out by? Odd. Just odd.

– Does anyone have the Harry Potter books? People are going totally nuts over the new movie that came out and I want to see what all the hype is about. I like to read the books prior to seeing the movie because I feel like the books always give you a better description/picture of what is happening.

– I hate when someone asks you a question, then doesn’t believe your answer. It’s like, why are you asking me in the first place if you aren’t going to accept my response unless it matches what you were already thinking? Some people….I tell ya.

– Everyone that knows me knows that I am a pretty talkative person. If you try to IM, text, or call me, and I don’t respond with much of an answer it’s probably because I’m tired or I don’t want to talk to you, or both. So please stop incessantly IM’ing, texting, calling, me because then I’m just going to want to punch you in the face. It’s also likely that I will follow through with that action. Consider yourself warned.

– I think I’m destined for great things, like being a contestant on The Amazing Race, SuperMarket Sweep, or Press Your Luck. Say it with me: No whammies, no whammies, no whammies. STOP!  ….on $500 + Jewelery 🙂 Woohoo!!

– If someone has good hair they are almost always more attractive than the person next to them. Maybe that’s just me. I have a thing about hair I guess.

– I want to become a D-list celebrity just so I can be on Dancing With the Stars. Isn’t that pathetic? Hahaha!

– Guys lie about their height. Women lie about their weight. Don’t act surprised.

– If someone brings a treat to work it’s probably best to take just one when they first present them. If there are more left afterwards, go ahead and shove 3 or 4 in your pants pockets, but don’t be a damn vulcher the minute you spot free food.

– Clothes don’t make the person. The person makes the clothes. If you don’t take pride in your appearance, no amount of nice clothes is going to make up for your lack of personal hygiene or the importance of a hairbrush.

– Leaving someone a drunk voicemail (sending drunk texts applies to this too) is only funny if you are good friends with the person. Just because you have someone’s number doesn’t mean you are “friends”. Just saying….

Alright…it’s time for me to grab lunch. I hope you enjoyed some of these random thoughts or at least realized you weren’t the only one thinking them. 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Mr. Z said,

    You are such a freak but an accurate one. 🙂 LOL

    Great blog!

  2. Mom said,

    Gina another great blog that made me LOL at my desk. I tell you…. these are just the best things to read. Thanks again for another great laugh!


Leave a Reply

